Day 359: 1 week till she’s 1!

My target, months ago, was to try and keep track of the days, rather than just let it all roll into weeks and months. I’ve been pretty terrible at this to be fair – I’m sure I’m not alone in attempting to set bold parenting targets and not quite meet them! Beatrice has just been surprising us day after day, and it’s impossible to keep up!

Anyway, we’re approaching Bea’s first (and my…ahem…we won’t count mine) birthday. A pretty significant event for any parent (obviously, I mean your child’s own first birthday- my child’s first birthday is probably only signficant to a select few!). The next week is set to be pretty frantic, so I’m squeezing in a quick post now, and will probably do another birthday-related post afterwards!

This time last year, Lucy was still working, just about to wrap up for the summer holidays. We were cautiously ready for any sign of her arrival, excited, bags ready, and birth plan all sorted. Both of us were certain she’d be late, and keeping fingers crossed so that I would also be on holiday! It seems strange now to think how far we’ve come in that short space of time. In a lot of ways, I feel it’s been the making of me too – it’s made me more switched-on and I’ve enjoyed (almost) every minute of it so far. Maybe I’m just more confident now, but having a ‘little me’ around definitely makes you walk that little bit taller!

SAM_0465.JPG
She’s standing pretty tall now too…

First Party Pressures

So what are we going to do to celebrate? Dipping your toe into the Pinterest World of Parenting (PWOP actually has a nice ring to it!) is usually a bad place to start (feel free to follow me here by the way if you do the Pinterest thing!). Self-doubt creeps in from the off. Thankfully, Lucy is brilliantly practical and keen to shoot down any ridiculous notions I might have.

18342263_10102021683602262_8040362598576167312_n.jpg
Look at all the tabs at the top- it’s like the ‘Inception’ of birthdays! You’ll never escape…
We’ve got a couple of ideas for some traditions, I’ve spent countless hours minutes looking up possible ones, and as far as her party goes, I’m sure that we’ll do what we always do and just spend a lot of time chasing her around the garden with good food, family and friends!

Sunday is going to be a busy day…and we can’t wait!

You can find out why I’m going to be a terrible parent on her actual first birthday in a future blog…

Leave a Reply

