The Nappylmpics 2016

The week delay between posts certainly wasn’t planned, so sorry if you’ve been on tenterhooks! Apparently you can subscribe to the blog so that I don’t have to nag you each time it’s published (however rare that may be!).

This post is all about celebrating the fact that having a baby during a major sporting event such as the Olympics is a seriously good thing. In the fortnight or so before the Rio games started, I was left with some seriously poor daytime TV. I will forever take pity on those parents weeping over another tedious episode of Come Dinw With Me or if you’re really in the doldrums, Pointless. If you’re stuck in that boat, you’ll be finding yourself either waking your baby up from a deep sleep, convincing yourself that their nappy is definitely in need of a change (in a different room away from the telly) or that perhaps another load of washing really does need doing. I mean, chances are, if things are like they are here, your washing machine needs just as much a rest as you do!

During our many multiple visits to the ‘changing suite’ in the last month, it really hasn’t been difficult for my mind to drift and combine my current interests into the Nappylmpics. You are all more than welcome to try and beat or even create any new world records, but here are my initial thoughts, all starting with…

The Nappy Bag Toss

We’ve all done it (I’m assuming we’ve all done it…). Bag tied, baby safely secure in one arm, and a casual sling of the bag into an open bin across the room. If all goes well, there is nothing more satisfying. It’s like a huge upgrade on chucking that bit of scrunched up paper in the bin. Saying that, I’ve yet to sling a nappy bag over my shoulder taking a blind shot at the bin. Not quite brave enough, especially with some of the heavier ones. I’m a bit worried I may start leaving bins in harder to reach places for the added challenge.

Current Nappylmpics record: 2.3m (ish)

One-handed Nappy Bag Tying

An Olympic athlete may need to demonstrate extreme dexterity and concentration. The Nappylmpics is no different. This came about after regularly forgetting to tie the bag after a change. Certainly not one for a novice (I consider myself now to be an amateur, got a way to go before I can call myself a pro), and to date has only been achieved once. Beatrice was particularly docile too. I’m sure for an added challenge, flailing and wailing are involved.

Current Nappylmpics record: 1m 4 secs

Nappy Relay

Our final event for this post is a record I’m not sure I’m proud of, but I’d be impressed (and sympathetic) if you’ve beaten it. The Nappy Relay is that moment when you switch old for new, deftly removing the dirty, damp offending article and sliding in the clean fresh one which will no doubt bring instant calm to your baby…ahem. All of course, in the hope that your cat-like reflexes aren’t called upon to raise the nappy shield in self-defence. Occasionally, this relay will continue for a series of nappies as your little one struggles to work out that bowel movements don’t really come in bunches. The relay starts from the first nappy removed to the last one before you leave the change station. My current record is 7 nappies (and 2 outfits) in a 40 minute, tearful (for both of us) exchange. I thought I’d made it out on 6, when as I picked Beatrice up, all snug and changed, she pulled a face, and a really disheartening bottom rumble followed.

Note- there is a 1 minute grace period from sealing a nappy (e.g. if baby is all done, you pick them up and within a minute they decide enough wasn’t enough, you can count it in your relay).

Current Nappylmpics record: 7 nappies, 2 outfits, countless nappy bags and wpes, 40 minutes

Those are my first events, please comment, share and let’s see if those efforts can be topped! Even something as tedious as a nappy change (still less tedious than Pointless) can be made more exciting with a little element of competition.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

